News/Newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

Los Angeles Times (1881-1992) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.

New York Times (1851-2014) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.

Additional historical news sources
Library Databases with Primary Source Materia
American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.

American Periodicals (1740-1940) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.

Hein Online - Law and Government Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.

LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.  


Indigenous Peoples: North America Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Digital archive of diverse source material pertaining to the histories of Indigenous peoples and their intersections with European peoples in North America.  Sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Additional primary source databases


 
Digital Collections
Bracero History Archive includes oral histories (Center for History & New Media) 

California Gold: Folk Music from 1930s California (Library of Congress) 

Cuban Heritage Digital Collections (University of Miami) 

Experiencing War: Hispanics in Service interviews with veterans (Library of Congress) 

First Blacks in the Americas (CUNY Dominican Studies Institute)


Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection (Harvard University)

Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande (Library of Congress)

Study of the spanish-speaking people of Texas 1949 photograph collection (Univ. of Texas at Austin) 

Tejano Voices: Oral histories (University of Texas at Arlington) 

VOCES: hispanic veterans oral histories (University of Texas at Austin) 

Additional resources via LANIC (University of Texas)
Research help
Library Databases for Secondary Sources
America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date

Chicano Database Restricted Resource
Citations to articles and books on all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and broader Latino experience. Broad subject coverage includes art, language, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, history,literature, politics, and law. Dates of Coverage: 1960s to date

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted Resource
Citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1970-
Back to TOP