All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

Historical Agro-Environment Browsing System (National Institute for Agro-Environmental Sciences) Resource contains images
Includes nearly 900 map sheets of rapid survey maps, covering the Kanto Region surrounding Tokyo. Provides detailed land use information in the areas during 1880s.
Japanese Historical Map Collection at UC Berkeley Resource contains images
The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World. The collection was acquired by the University of California from the Mitsui family in 1949, and is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library. Represented in this online collection are over 1100 images of maps and books from this Collection. The maps were selected by Yuki Ishimatsu, Head of Japanese Collections at the East Asian Library, and scanned and put online by David Rumsey and Cartography Associates.

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date) Restricted Resource
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of  East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.  
CiNii Articles
CiNii Article Database is a Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.
CiNii Articles Database is developed and managed by the National Institute of Informatics (NII)
 

Main databases included in CiNii Articles: http://ci.nii.ac.jp/info/en/cinii_db.html.

  1. Electronic Library Service Academic Society Journals (National Institute of Informatics)
  2. Electronic Library Service Research Bulletins (joint input from each university)
  3. Citation Database for Japanese Publications (National Institute of Informatics)
  4. Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (National Diet Library)
  5. Institutional Repository (Universities, etc.)   JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
  6. J-STAGE Journal@rchive (Japan Science and Technology Agency)

HathiTrust Digital Library Some full text available
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online Some full text available
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online, is an index of over 1 million journal articles, dissertations, departmental bulletins, etc, with links to the full text of more than three-quarters of them.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  recent volumes (within 2 to 5 years) not available for many titles.
The NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin
It is a bibliographic database that provides detailed bibliographic information of many journals published in Japan and received by the National Diet Library (NDL) from 1948 to present. The scope of coverage depends on each journal so please consult with the full list and information @ the Zassaku List. This guide provides some tips for your database search.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Babylon
Provides English-Japanese, Japanese-English dictionaries online and for downloadings as well as some more specialized dictionaries: computer terminology, terms associated with continuous improvement, marketing and transport. When relevant, the search also goes to the Japanese wikipedia.
Denshi jisho
 Words, kanji and sentences can be searched in either English or Japanese. Includes a bookmarklet which you can drag to the favourites/bookmark bar in your browser and then select a Japanese word on a page, then click the bookmarklet to make a quick lookup on that word.
Jim Breen's Japanese Page
It has a wealth of information and links to dictionaries, information about translation software, information about reading Japanese WWW pages using a browser without Japanese fonts.
Rikai
 Allows you to paste a URL or block of text into the translator, and it provides the Japanese reading and English translation for words. Does Japanese to English, English to Japanese, English to Chinese, and English to Spanish.

Library Catalogs

CiNii Books
is a service that enables searching of information on books and journals that are held in university libraries in Japan. It is possible to search for about 10 million titles held in 1200 university libraries (totaled over 100 million books), and about 1.5 million authors of these books that has been accumulated through the online cataloging system (NACSIS-CAT) which NII provides. It is available for anyone without registering.

News & Analysis

Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 
note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Nikkei Telecom 21

Resources from more than 500 sources.

  1. 140+ national/regional/specialized newspapers
  2. 140+ national/specialized periodicals
  3. 30+ newswires
  4. 30+ stats, marketing, research information
  5. 40+ International source
  6. Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
  7. Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.

Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.


note: Access is via a pay-per-use pricing structure. Funding for this resource is limited.  Please contact Xi Chen, the East Asian Studies Librarian (xi.chen@oberlin.edu, Mudd 115, 440-775-5116) for log in information.

Organizations & Associations

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC)
NCC creates programs and online services to support the research needs of the field of Japanese studies and for users with any interest in Japan, anywhere. This site also provides links to many recommended instructional and topical sites related to Japan.

Primary Sources

Japan Center for Asia Historical Records Resource contains images
Run by the National Archive, the archive provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. It contains historical documents and photographs, maps, drawings, and figures, including photographic magazines such as Shashin Shuho. They also have curated digital exhibits.
NDL Digital Collection and Exhibitions Some full text available Resource contains images
The National Diet Library offers online galleries of digitized material with detailed English descriptions. The digitized content can be browsed on an English interface; however, the bibliographic information is available only in Japanese and must be searched using Japanese characters as well.  
Subject Specialist
Picture: Xi Chen

Xi Chen
East Asian and Web Development Librarian
Tel: (440)775- 5116

Book Search
Search OBIS
How to Get Articles from Japan

This instruction is complied by Univ. of Michigan Asia Library

http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=37501&sid=275675
 

Back to TOP