Business
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database for all types of business research;
Trade journals                   Market research
Industry reports                 Company profiles / SWOT Analyses
Country reports                 Entrepreneurship
Financial data                   Business Analysis


Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
News: search engine of thousands of news sources around the world includes filters for company, industry, country, state, city, region, subject, news source, subject

Company and Industry: in the top menu, choose Companies/Markets; search by choose an industry snapshot, stock quotes and custom stock price charts

***NOTE: Factiva subscription allows only 3 simultaneous users from Oberlin

LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available
Company Dossier is a large directory of companies organized by industry and sub-industry;
Identify competitors, affiliates, etc.
Find executives (some profiles connect to LinkedIn)
Create customized list of companies by criteria (geography, industry or sub-industry, by NAICS / SIC code, sales, revenue, number of employees)


See more in Economics and Business

See also Statistics & Data
News
Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Search engine of aggregated news stories from thousands of news sources around the world; Includes Wall Street Journal back to 1984.

NYTimes.com
***NOTE: Access available for all current Oberlin College students, faculty and staff only)

The Economist
Economist.com access is unlimited on campus via library subscription.
Data & Statistics
UNITED STATES

Social Explorer Unrestricted Resource
United States demographic and socio-economic data; can be used to create custom charts and maps

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selected commonly used statistical tables, organized by topic; the site is searchable by keyword

American Factfinder
United States demographic data by geographic area: city, zip, state, county and region
see also: State and County QuickFacts

Economic Census of the United States

Conducted every 5 years; most recent available data from 2012. This data can be used to compare businesses, find economic and industry data for communities, and identify potential markets. 

INTERNATIONAL

Data-Planet: Statistical Datasets Restricted Resource
Largest harmonized repository of data content with more than 5,000 datasets from hundreds of sources, US and international, containing billions of data points presented in different views (maps, trends, tables, rankings) -- Includes consumer spending data for the United States.

UN Statistical Yearbook
International statistics covering population, production, energy, social stats, health, nutrition, gender, communications, labor, agriculture, manufacturing, finance, environment and economic relations.

Google Trends
Visualization tool of aggregate Google searches, tracking relative search frequency back to 2004.

Statista.com
Subscription based website with market research data, tables, and analysis. A limited amount of content is available for free. 
 
Research help
Google Advanced Search
Customized searching:
  • Using the 'News' tab, Click on 'Tools' and use the 'Recent' drop-down to indicate Custom Date Ranges
  • Add quotations to keep phrases together
  • Exclude keywords by typing -keyword
  • Exclude sites by typing -site:url
  • Exclude domains by typing -site:.domain
  • Search for specific document type by typing filetype:filetype
  • Search for related sites by typing related:url
  • Archived sites can be found through the wayback machine.
Encyclopedias / Directories
Encyclopedia of Associations
Directory listings for national organizations of the US and international organizations. Search by keyword. Listings include founding, description, awards, membership, conventions, publications, committees, budget, contact information, etc.
 
Funding
Foundation Center Directory Online
Online directory that includes profiles of grantmakers by geography, subject/issue, type of support. To get access a reference librarian will enter our login information for you (can only be used in person, when a reference librarian is available)

Foundation Grants to Individuals / Foundation Center (23rd ed., 2014)
PRINT BOOK Location: Main Reference LB2336 .F59 
Information about foundations that provide funding opportunities for individuals in the areas of education, arts and culture, and research.
Back to TOP