Iconography
Dictionary of saints, being also an index to the revised edition of Alban Butler's Lives of the saints
Print Location: Main 920.8 AT88
OBIS record

Golden Legend: Readings on the Saints
Print Location: Art Ref. BX4654.J334 1993 vols. 1-2
The Golden Legend (a.k.a. Legenda Aurea) consists of popular religious stories collected during the 13th century by Jacobus de Voragine (a.k.a Varagine).  The legends of the saints are arranged chronologically by feast day. These stories are valuable for iconographic research, as the stories were widely used by Medieval and Renaissance artists.  First published in Latin in 1275, this English translation of the Legenda Aureais based on the only modern Latin edition, produced by T. Graesse in 1845.
OBIS record

Iconography of Christian Art/ Ikonographie der Christlichen Kunst
Print Location: Art Ref. N 7830 .S3513
- Comprehensive tool for the study of Christian iconography
- Covers the origin & development of each person or event & their relation to biblical texts, dogma, liturgy, devotional writing, & religious trends.
- Interprets symbolism 
- 1,300+ black and white plates of art work
Vol. 1 & 2 describe major events in the life of Christ and those closely associated with him. 
Volumes 3-5 (in the original German) cover:
Vol. 3 The Resurrection and Raising of Christ
Vol. 4, pt 1 The Church & pt 2. Mary
Vol. 5  The Book of Revelation    
OBIS record

Iconographie de l'Art Chrétien
Print Location: Art Reference N7830 .R37 vol. 1-3
An important dictionary for the study of Christian iconography, Réau describes the source(s) for the image or concept, discusses its expression in art, and lists examples by century (including the location of the work). Covers Christian iconography from the Early Christian era to the 20th century; emphasis is on the western Medieval period.Since each subject is translated into several languages is also constitutes a polyglot dictionary. Divided into:
Volume 1: General Introduction
Volume 2: Iconography of Old and New Testaments
Volume 3: Iconography of the Saints
OBIS record

Iconography of the Saints in Italian Painting from its Beginnings to the Early XVIth Century
Print Location: Art Ref. N 8080 .K25... vol. 1-4
Each volume of this magnum opus has scholarly entries accompanied by numerous black and white images.  Paintings, mosaics and frescoes
from the 2nd to the early 16th century are covered.  Each volume has two parts.  The first has alphabetically  arranged entries of saints with, for example, types of representations, literary sources, and bibliographies.   The second part is composed of various indexes (to attributes, painters, bibliographies, saints and locations of works).
Vol. 1 Iconography of the Saints in Tuscan Painting. 
Vol. 2 Iconography of the Saints in Central and South Italian Schools of Painting.
Vol. 3 Iconography of the Saints in the Painting of Northeast Italy.
Vol. 4 Iconography og the Saints in the Paintings of Northwest Italy.

Illuminated Manuscripts: An Index to Selected Bodleian Library Color Reproductions
Oxford University's Bodleian Library has 10,000 manuscripts dated from the 1st through the 20th centuries, the majority produced between the 11th and 16th centuries.  The Bodleian and ARTstor have digitized over 24,000 high quality images of manuscript paintings and drawings from the Bodleian Library's outstanding collection of Medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts (see ARTstor's Manuscripts and Early Printed Books, Bodleian Library, Oxford University).  When searching ARTstor enter the search terms "bodleian oxford" (Advanced Search screen) to limit results to this collection.

Index of Christian Art
Index of Christian Art records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc.

Index of Jewish Art
Print Location: Art Limited Access N7415.N34
Published as part of an ongoing project by The Israel Academy of Arts and Sciences, The Index of Jewish art complements the period and scope of Princeton University's Index of Christian Art (N7 832 .I5).  'Jewish art' pertains to works made 'for use and appreciation of people living according to the Jewish tradition' including works made by non-Jewish artists.  The works included in the index date from the Hellenistic period onward--pre-Hellenistic works are considered Israelite. Printed on cards, the index entries are organized in two volumes:  Volume one lists Hebrew Illuminated Manuscripts titles alphabetized in English  (with translations in French and Modern Hebrew) and provides analytical descriptions of narrative subjects and iconography, with bibliographic references. Volume two is arranged by subject matter and includes their literary sources, iconographic elements, and corresponding manuscript titles. For more detailed information on how to use this index effectively, see the handbook at the beginning of the volumes.

Insular and Anglo-Saxon Illuminated Manuscripts: An Iconographic Catalogue, c. AD 625 to 1100
Print Location: Art ND3128.O45 1986
Divided into an inventory of manuscripts and an iconographic index, this catalog covers manuscripts from the late 6th century to 1100. Most entries have citations for further reading.
OBIS record
note: library use only

Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie
Print Location: Art Reference BV150.L4 Bd. 1-8
This important dictionary has signed articles covering a broad range of Christian symbols and themes.  It is divided into two sections: General Iconography ("Allgemeine Ikonographie") and Iconography of the Saints ("Ikonographie der Heiligen").  Arranged alphabetically, essays include references to reproductions.  The last volume includes an index of attributes.  English and French equivalents are listed at the end of volume 4.  Abbreviations are used heavily; be sure and check the abbreviation list in volume 1.
OBIS record

Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary
Print Location: Art N7850 .R67 1996
Designed to quickly identify and explain "subjects, stories, and themes frequently represented in early Christian, western medieval, and Byzantine art." 
OBIS record

Myth & Religion in European Painting, 1270-1700: The Stories as the Artists Knew Them
Print Location: Art Reference ND1288.B47 1973b
This dictionary lists alphabetically the stories of 850 common subjects in European painting from mythology, ancient history, Italian poetry, saints' lives, and the Bible. Many entries quote extensively from original ancient sources, providing the reader with the texts familiar to European painters of these centuries. There are no illustrations.
OBIS record

Post-Biblical Saints Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Mosaics, Icons, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts, and Engravings, Created from the 4th Century to 1950, With a Directory of the Institutions Holding Them
Print Location: Art Ref. N 8079.5.R63 1994
Identifies images (in books) of the many saints not mentioned in the Bible.   Includes attributes of the saints.
OBIS record


Religious Art in France: the Late Middle Ages: A Study of Medieval Iconography and its Sources
Print Location: Art N7949.A1M3313 1986
OBIS record

Religious Art in France, the Twelfth Century: A Study of the Origins of Medieval Iconography. 
Print Location: Art N7949.A1M3413 1978 
Emile Mâle, a renowned authority on French Medieval iconography, wrote many important works on this topic.  His series on French iconography has been translated, with revised notes taking into account more recent scholarship. The titles in the series are roughly chronological:
OBIS record

Religious Art in France, the Thirteenth Century: A Study of Medieval Iconography and its Sources.
Print Location: Art N7949.A1M3513 1984 
OBIS record

Saints and their Emblems
Print Location: Art Ref. N 8080 .D7
This work is divided into two parts; a biographical dictionary of saints and a list of emblems and the saints associated with them.  Appendices include a list of sibyls and their emblems, patriarchs and prophets and their emblems, patrons saints, and saints evoked for particular reasons.  A good place to start when trying to determine who a saint is based upon their attributes.
OBIS record

Who's Who in the New Testament
Print Location: Art Ref. BS2430.B67 1993

Who's who in the Old Testament Together with the Apocrypha
Print Location: Art Ref. BS570.C64 1993
Back to TOP