All Items by Source Type

Bibliographies

Additional Bibliographies (Digital Resources)
For a list of digital bibliographies, follow this link to our page of additional online music resources. Don't forget to browse our other subject guides for further print materials.
Biographisch-bibliograpisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts
Print Location: Con Ref ML105 .E36
OBIS record
Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: A Guide to Their Contents
Print Location: Con Ref Desk ML113 .H52 1980 v.1-2
OBIS record

Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales Restricted Resource

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Dictionaries & Thesauri

Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themes Resource contains audio
Originally compiled in print by Harold Barlow and Sam Morgenstern, this site provides MIDI files of the themes of almost 10,000 instrumental works by more than 150 composers.
Riemann Musik Lexikon
Print Location: Con Ref ML100 .R522
OBIS record
Themefinder
A database of musical themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and sixteenth-century Latin motets. The Themefinder U.S. RISM subset includes the incipits of over 55,000 post-1600 musical manuscripts from U.S. libraries.

Directories

American Folklife Center Resource contains images
A directory of ethnographic resources--museums, archives, organizations, events, and websites--related to folklife, anthropology, ethnomusicology, oral history, and the humanities. Includes organizations from 30 countries but focuses primarily on North America. A program of the Library of Congress.
Musical America Restricted Resource
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.

Encyclopedias

Diccionario de la Música: Española e Hispanoamericana
Print Location: Con Ref ML101 S7 D53 1999
OBIS record
Dictionnaire de la Musique en France aux XVIIe et XVIIIe Siècles
Print Location: Con Ref ML101 .F8 D53 1992
OBIS record
Dizionario Enciclopedico Universale della Musica e dei Musicisti: Il Lessico
Print Location: Con Ref ML105 .D65 1985
OBIS record
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Print Location: Con Ref ML100 .G233
OBIS record
Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart: Allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik (MGG)
Print Location: Con Ref ML100 .M92 1994 v.1-17
OBIS record
Oesterreichisches Musiklexikon
Print Location: Con Ref ML101.A93 O47 2002
OBIS record
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Ethnographic Field Materials

Alan Lomax Archive (Association for Cultural Equity) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Materials related to the career of ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Includes streaming sound and video recordings, radio programs, photographs, interviews and lectures, and field recording session information. The Lomax Geo-Archive maps digitized field recordings and session information onto geographic locations.

Iconography

A History of Music in Pictures
Print Location: Con Books 780.9 K625
OBIS record
Inventory of Music Iconography / International Repertory of Musical Iconography
Print Location: Con Books ML85 .I6
OBIS record
Musical Iconography: A Manual for Cataloguing Musical Subjects in Western Art before 1800
Print Location: Con Reference ML111 .B825 M9
OBIS record
Musikgeschichte in Bildern
Print Location: Con Books 780.9 B464M
OBIS record
RIdIM: Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale Resource contains images
Facilitates discovery of music iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers.

Library Catalogs

European Library Resource contains images
Gateway site to European national libraries. Also contains digital exhibits of items from member libraries.
Library of Congress Resource contains images
Website and catalog of the Library of Congress, including a portal to the library's extensive digital collections of image and audio files, as well as a gateway to hundreds of library catalogs around the world.

Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.

Organizations & Associations

American Musical Instrument Society (AMIS)
Promotes understanding of the history, design, construction, restoration, and usage of musical instruments in all cultures and periods.
American Musicological Society (AMS)
A scholarly society formed to advance research in various fields of music history.

International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM)
IASPM supports scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music.
International Musicological Society (IMS)
IMS advances the study of musicology and promotes international cooperation in scholarship.
Society for American Music
The mission of SAM is to stimulate the appreciation, performance, creation and study of American musics of all eras, including the full range of activities and institutions associated with these musics.
Society for Ethnomusicology
Promotes the research, study, and performance of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts, with particular focus on anthropology and cultural context.

Organology

Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
Print Location: ML460 .C36 2004
OBIS record
Roderic C. Knight Musical Instrument Collection Resource contains images
Contains images and detailed descriptions of about 200 musical instruments donated from the personal collection of Roderic Knight, OC Professor Emeritus of Ethnomusicology.
Virtual Instrument Museum Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The website of the Wesleyan World Music Collection, containing descriptions, images, and audio and video samples for instruments from the collection.

Primary Sources

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM) Resource contains images
Digital archive of medieval, Renaissance, and early-modern music manuscripts. More than 25,000 high-resolution images, many with extensive metadata.
Oberlin Conservatory Special Collections
The Conservatory's own special collections reside in the basement of the Kohl Building and can be retrieved upon request.

Video Files

Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall Restricted Resource Resource contains video
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. There are more than 30 broadcasts a year, and the site contains an archive of past performances.

note: Only one user at a time.
Folkstreams: A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures Resource contains video
A streaming collection of documentary films about American folk cultures. Some films are accompanied by transcriptions, essays, and other contextual material.
Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.

Web Sites

Open Folklore Some full text available Resource contains images
Digital materials for the study of folklore, including folk and world music. Contains books and journals, archived websites, conference abstracts, white papers, program notes and exhibition catalogues, and course syllabi.
Kathy Abromeit
Public Services Librarian

Schedule a reference
appointment: 440/775-5131
kathleen.abromeit@oberlin.edu
News & Newspapers

Complete list of current and historic news sources.

Additional Music Resources

Looking for more? Follow this link to our complete list of online music resources.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Book Search
Search OBIS
Thank you!

Brenton Grom, Ph.D. candidate in Musicology at Case Western University, created this guide.

Back to TOP