Databases
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (1975-2007) Unrestricted Resource
Index to 1,200+ North American and European Journals covering Western Art from ca. 300 CE to present. Succeeded by International Bibliography of Art.

International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date) Restricted Resource
Indexes 500 journals covering European art since antiquity, American art sincle the colonial period, and Global art since 1945. Preceded by the Bibliography of the History of Art.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date

Kubikat Unrestricted Resource

An important indexing tool for Renaissance and Baroque researchers; a database listing monograph holdings of German Art History Institutes in Munich, Paris, Florence and Rome.

 



Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Unrestricted Resource
Indexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe. Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date 
Encyclopedias
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies.



Grove encyclopedia of northern Renaissance art Restricted Resource Some full text available
Print: Art Lib. Ref. N 6370 .G76 2009 v. 1-3Essays from the Grove Art Online and the Grove Dictionary of Art are revised and supplemented with essays on Northern European art from the late 12th - 16th centuries.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Iconography
Bible and the Saints Art Ref BS 513.2 .D8313 1994
Lists 500+ Christian saints, biblical characters, and scenes, with attributes; symbolism of plants, religious objects, personifications, numbers, and animals (real & imaginary). OBIS record

The Catholic Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Constitution, doctrine, discipline and history of the Catholic Church  From the 3rd c. A.D. to the present  Includes saints and religious orders  Describes practices, objects, rituals, etc. 


Iconography of the Counter Reformation in the Netherlands: Heaven on Earth Art Ref. N7953.A1K71 1974 vols.1-2 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
OBIS record

Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in Painting Art Ref. ND1288.D3 1971 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
A dictionary of the most common subjects in European painting from the early Renaissance to the mid-19th century; with info on  popular historic, mythological and religious narratives. OBIS record  

Myth & Religion in European Painting, 1270-1700: The Stories as the Artists Knew Them Art Reference ND1288.B47 1973b Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Covers common subjects in European painting: mythology, ancient history, Italian poetry, saints' lives, and the Bible. Quotes from original ancient sources, providing the reader with the texts familiar to European painters of these centuries. OBIS record
Primary Sources
Sources and Documents in the History of Art: Northern Renaissance Art, 1400-1600.
Art N 6370 .N67 1989 

Golden Legend: Readings on the Saints Art Ref. BX4654.J334 1993 vols. 1-2
Popular religious stories collected during the 13th century;  stories were widely used by Medieval and Renaissance artists. OBIS record

Sources and Documents in the History of Art: Italian Art, 1400-1500 Art N6915.I78 c.1-3
OBIS record

Douay-Rheims Bible

St. Jerome's Latin translation of the Bible, The Vulgate, is an important primary source as it was used throughout the Renaissance.   The Douay-Rheims is the English translation closest to the Vulgate.
Print: Art Reference BS 180 2002
Back to TOP