Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon
Introduction
The Art+Feminism Wikipedia assignment consists of several elements, each designed to compliment the in-class work you will be doing on epistemology, feminist theories and perspectives on knowledge production in the arts. It involves the following elements:
 
  • Independent research on a particular topic/woman and/or GSM (gender and/or sexual minority) of your choice 
  • A Tuesday, 2/20 class session with Rosalinda Linares at the Oberlin College Library intended to help students develop sound research strategies for finding, evaluating, and using sources
  • A Thursday, 3/15 class session (and/or optional participation on the Art+Feminism Editathon on Saturday, 3/3)  during which each student will edit their Wikipedia article 


Wikipedia Dashboard
During this project you will read about and complete your assignments in the Oberlin College ArtandFeminism 2018 dashboard. Click on the dashboard link to get started with the project.

Philosophy Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology.

Dates of Coverage: 1949-


ETHX Web (1974-2009) Unrestricted Resource
ETHX Web covers the literature of bioethics and professional ethics, with over 250,000 citations to journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included. Dates of Coverage: 1974-2009

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Indexes books, anthologies, and articles from 300+ journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.Dates of Coverage: 1940-

Religion and Philosophy Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text from more than 290 journals; covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an updated reference work.

 
Arts Databases
Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism (ARAS) Restricted Resource
A pictorial and written archive of mythological, ritualistic, and symbolic images from all over the world and from all epochs of human history.

Art Full Text (1984 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date.  For earlier dates search its companion database Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.  

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.

Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies. 

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.

International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date) Restricted Resource
Indexes 500 journals covering European art since antiquity, American art sincle the colonial period, and Global art since 1945. Preceded by the Bibliography of the History of Art.
Research help
GSFS Databases
Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date


LGBT Life Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Science Databases
Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource
Public access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.  
 
Back to TOP