Background/Context
Europa World
Well researched non partisan political and economic information on countries and territories from around the world,  Also includes some statistical data, directory, and profiles of international organizations.

Oxford Bibliographies - Political Science
Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship from many disciplines and topics. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
International City Data / Statistics
Country Statistical Yearbook
Provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections for 154 countries worldwide. Find latest statistics and Ctrl+F to search for cities. Table data in PDFs might not be searchable to be sure to scroll through document.

City Population
Includes trend data for selected major cities throughout the world, as well as links to National Statiscal Offices.

Global Power City Index 2017
Yearly research report published by The Institute for Urban Strategies at the Mori Memorial Foundation. Includes major international city data in full report.

OpenStreetMap
Crowdsourced project that provides free geographic city data, including transportation and other user-generated points of interest.
 
Political Science Databases
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-

PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date



Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--


 
Urban Studies Databases
Environment Complete
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Google Scholar
Includes articles from scientific journals and citation metrics

Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes publications covering key areas of relevance to urban studies, including city and regional planning, urban affairs, community development, urban history, architecture, and more. Dates of coverage: 1973-present

Web of Science
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.  
 
Research help
Google Advanced Search
CUSTOMIZED SEARCHING
 
  • Using the 'News' tab, Click on 'Tools' and use the 'Recent' drop-down to indicate Custom Date Ranges
 
  • Search exact words and word order by clicking Tools > All Results > Verbatim
 
  • Exclude keywords by typing -keyword
 
  • Exclude sites by typing -site:url
 
  • Exclude domains by typing -site:.domain
 
  • Search for specific document type by typing filetype:filetype
 
  • Search for related sites by typing related:url
 
News and newspapers
Contemporary Sources

Factiva
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 

LexisNexis
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.  


Foreign News Translations

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996)
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.

World News Connection (1995 - 2013)
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013

See the NEWS & NEWSPAPERS page for finding guides to major newspapers and links to other news databases.

 
Citation help
CITATION STYLES
IMAGE/CREATIVE COMMONS USE & CITATION
  • Determine the source and date of the image/content and write a title (if no title is included in image/content information)
  • If image/content is licensed under a Creative Commons license, give appropriate attribution for the work when including in presentations or papers.
  • Cite image/content according to Citation Style manual (i.e. MLA, APA, Chicago)

KEEPING TRACK OF YOUR SOURCES


ProQuest RefWorks is a citation management tool that helps researchers gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
  • Search - OBIS, OhioLink, PubMed & Scopus
  • Share - Folders via URL
  • Store - PDFs online and take notes
  • Read - Search your references fulltext and save searches
  • Write - Create a simple reference list and use Write-N-Cite to format paper in Microsoft Word
  • Check out our video tutorial!
Back to TOP