Background/Context
Europa World
Well researched non partisan political and economic information on countries and territories from around the world,  Also includes some statistical data, directory, and profiles of international organizations.

Oxford Bibliographies - Political Science
Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship from many disciplines and topics. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
Finding Scholarly Articles
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-

JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date

International Political Science Abstracts
Citations for articles in political science and related disciplines.

Dates of Coverage: 1951 to date



Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--
Data & Statistics
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES)
Collaboration among election study teams test a common set of survey questions in post-election studies, which produces a single, comparative dataset covering 53 countries over 4 waves (1996-2016).

Eurobarometer
Large set of surveys measuring public opinion in the countries of the European Union

European Social Survey (ESS)
Biennial multi-country survey, first conducted in 2002

Eurostat
Official European Union source for national and regional economic and social indicators

IDEA Voter Turnout Database
Global collection of voter turnout statistics from presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945

OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), including books, papers, statistics and other datasets. Read only, PDF's not available for download
Research help
Finding Books on European Political Parties
  • Search OBIS, the OC Library catalog
  • Search OhioLINK, a 90+ member consortium of academic libraries in Ohio
  • Search Google Books, which utilizes full-text search to provide snippets of texts, then copy and paste the title of the book into OBIS or OhioLINK to find a library-owned copy
English Language News Outlets
BBC News Europe
Corriere della Sera (Italy)
The Economist - new Oberlin subscription
The Guardian (UK)
Le Monde Diplomatique (France)
The New York Times
  *Sign up for unlimited access at  nytimes.com/grouppass 
El PAIS (Spain)
Spiegel Online (Germany)
Back to TOP