Background
Europa World Year Book
Annual publication with political and economic information on countries, territories, and international organizations

Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
Main Reference  HQ76 .G724 2010 vol 1-3 (also available in stacks)

LGBTQ America today : an encyclopedia 
Main Reference HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009 vol 1-3

Issues in U.S. immigration
Main Reference  JV6450 .I565 2015 vol 1-2

Undocumented immigrants in the United States: an encyclopedia of their experience
Main Reference  JV6475 .U48 2014 vol 1-2

The making of modern immigration: an encyclopedia of people and ideas
Main Reference  JV6450 .M364 2012 vol 1-2
Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies
Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource --  Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes some full text.

LGBT Life Restricted Resource Some full text available -- The definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Includes LGBT-specific periodicals, books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource -- Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. 
Politics
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date



ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.

International Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Citations for articles in political science and related disciplines.

Dates of Coverage: 1951 to date


Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1940-1996
From the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency, this digital archive covers all aspects of 20th century migration
Policy, Advocacy & Organizations
NGO Research Guide
A guide to researching NGO's from Duke University Libraries

International Migration
Information from the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs Population Division

UNHCR
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

World Health Organization
An agency of the United Nations concerned with international public health

Center for Gender & Refugee Studies
Resources from UC Hastings. Search for asylum case outcomes under 'Resources' 

Consortium on Gender, Security & Human Rights
A research hub with a comprehensive, publicly accessible database of scholarly research topics related to gender, armed conflict, peacebulding and security

Forced Migration and Refugee Studies
A research guide from Northwestern University's Center for Forced Migration Studies

Migration Policy Institute
An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank that works on analyses related to global migration

Pew Research Center - Hispanics
Click on the Hispanics tab to access information on issues, attitudes, and trends relevant to this demographic
Statistics
Data-Planet: Statistical Datasets Restricted Resource
Large repository of harmonized datasets from a variety of sources, with global and time series coverage.  Datasets allow complete access to datasets using customizable tables, graphs and maps, with numerous output formats available (Excel, PDF, delimited text, SAS, SPSS, XML, Shapefile GIS).


ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Social Explorer Unrestricted Resource
Provides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.

 
Legal
Hein Online - Law and Government
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.

Immigration Law
A research guide from Cornell University that includes information on federal agencies, regulations and agency materials, administrative decisions, and other government access related to immigration law in the United States

LegalTrac Restricted Resource Some full text available
LegalTrac includes articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law. Dates of Coverage: 1980-

Black's law dictionary
Main Reference  KF156 .B53 2004


 
Writing a Literature Review
Refer to the following research guide:

Literature Review
Research help
Citation Help
Chicago Manual of Style
Online quick cite guide

RefWorks
Citation manager, document organizer, available for free; can keep after graduation
Related Scholarship

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted Resource
Citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1970-

Chicano Database Restricted Resource
Citations to articles and books on all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and broader Latino experience. Broad subject coverage includes art, language, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, history,literature, politics, and law. Dates of Coverage: 1960s to date

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Restricted Resource
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials Dates of coverage: 1975 to present

MEDLINE (EBSCO version) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.  Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource
Public access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.  
 
News & Media
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

NewspaperARCHIVE
Scanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns across the US with some international coverage. 

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 

LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.  


World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013

See the NEWS & NEWSPAPERS for finding guides to major newspapers and links to other news databases.


 
Back to TOP