Treaties & International Agreements

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Main Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003 vols. 1 - 4

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances
Main Reference KZ 1160 .P48 2001 vols. 1 - 2

The Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: A History and Guide with Texts
Main Reference KZ64 .G74 2001 vols. 1 & 2
 

Security Council Resolutions
Includes Resolutions passed by the United Nations Security Coucil since 1946.
 

UN Treaty Collection
The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.


Other International Treaties:

Arms Trade Treaty Preparatory Committee
Biological Weapons Convention
Chemical Weapons Convention
Convention on Clusture Munitions
Convention on Conventional Weapons
Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty

 
Government Sources
Data.gov
Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. 

Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.

FDsys
The Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System. The collection includes the Budget of the U.S. Government; the Compilation of Presidential Documents; Congressional bills, calendars, committee prints, documents, hearings, and reports; the Congressional Record; Economic Indicators; the Federal Register; the List of CFR Sections Affected; and Public and Private Laws. Coverage begins in 1993.

ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
Databases
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-

Hein Online - Law and Government Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.

International Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Citations for articles in political science and related disciplines.

Dates of Coverage: 1951 to date



PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date



Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--
Why do a literature review?
  • To see what has and has not been investigated.
  • To identify data sources that other researchers have used.
  • To learn how others have defined and measured key concepts.
  • To develop alternative research projects.
  • To put your work in perspective.
  • To contribute to the field by moving research forward. Reviewing the literature lets you see what came before, and what did and didn't work for other researchers.
  • To demonstrate your understanding, and your ability to critically evaluate research in the field.
  • To provide evidence that may be used to support your own findings.
What is the purpose of a literature review?
In writing the literature review, your purpose is:
What is a literature review?

Here are some definitions of what a literature review could entail:

Usually, literature reviews are defined by a guiding concept (e.g., your research objective, the problem or issue you are discussing or your argumentative thesis). It is not just a descriptive list of the material available, or a set of summaries. In many academic research papers, the literature is one section of the paper where literature relevant to the argument is summarized and synthesized.

Here are some examples of other overviews of the literature that are NOT literature reviews:
  • Annotated Bibliographies: These are lists of citations, grouped alphabetically or by theme that include a short, typically 2-3 sentence descriptive and evaluative summary of each work. The aim of an annotated bibliography is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of a cited source.
  • Literary Reviews: A literary review is a critical analysis of a literary work, such as a novel, play, or book of poems
  • Book Reviews: Similar to a literary review, a book review is a brief critical discussion of a book. For scholarly works, books are reviewed by other scholars in the field.
 
Starting and organizing a literature review

Similar to primary research, development of the literature review requires four stages:

Organization:
Searching the literature

Broad Issues/Background
You may want to consult a subject-specific reference work in order to determine a set definition or identify key elements or referenced scholars involved in your topic. 
  • In Print: Using the Advanced Search in OBIS, Limit Search by Location: Main Library Reference.
  • Online: Consult Credo Reference or Oxford Reference. Both of these platforms search across topic or subject-specific referene materials. Pay attention to the work in which your topic entry appears, as it will give you a good sense of any interdisciplinary or related subjects to consider for your review

Annual Reviews
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.


ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world. Previews and full text available for some titles.

Theme/s of Your Research & Direct Relevance
Now that you've found broad overviews & background information on your topic, follow the citations. Mine the bibliographies of reference sources, dissertations & theses, and reviews done by other scholars to locate sources that are specific to the themes of your research.

Look up book citations in OBIS or journal titles in Journal Finder to locate the sources that you find in bibliographies. At this point, once you've determined the subject disciplines relevant to the themes of your research, search our Databases to further narrow your focus.


When you find a relevant article, pay attention to the associated Subject Headings in order to come up with new search terms and start making a list of Journal Titles that are thematically coherent with you topic. Skim the table of contents of these journals for more articles that speak directly to your topic and to identify gaps in your research.

 
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Sign up for a Research Appointment
SIPRI Yearbook
SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments & Disarmaments
Main Reference UA10.W674
1972-1974,1978,1980- Latest year in Reference; earlier years in Main Library.

 
Research Institutes
IISS
International Institute for Strategic Studies

SIPRI
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute 

USIP
United States Institute of Peace


 
Critical questions for evaluating sources
As you think through the value and significance of the sources you've gathered, evaluate them in light of these broad categories: context, credibility, point of view, depth, relevance & impact. Here are some critical questions to ask:
 
Sources consulted/Bibliography
The Literature Review
Literature Review
Sample APA Papers: Literature Review
The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting It
Literature Review Handout
Starting a Literature Review
The Structure of a Literature Review
Write a Literature Review
Learn How to Write a Review of the Literature
Back to TOP